Lately I’ve been running by day, drinking by night

185557_900433227628_19706078_41941589_5106300_n

Finally, finally, I feel well enough to join the living again!

I went for a nice run today, but the only thing I drank tonight was tea. (Sadly. Some wine might have been nice.) I have been reading poetry however, which is where the headline for this post came from. 

It’s from a passage I came across in Phillip Levine’s Words.

Lately I’ve been
running by day,
drinking by night,
as though first to build
a man and then destroy
him–this for
three months, and
I don’t find it foolish
–a man almost 50
who still knows so
little of why he’s
alive and would turn
away from answers,
turn to the blankness
that follows my nights
or the pounding of
the breath, the sweat
oiling every part
of me, running
even from my hair. 

There’s probably more of me in this passage than I’d care to admit. 

Still, it’s good to be back. :)

 

Leave a Reply

